Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Twitter http://twitter.com/cooksheriff Fan us on Facebook Fan us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube Watch us on YouTube

QUICK LINKS


Search for Inmate Information/Visitation Registration


Submit a Crime Tip


Public Corruption
Complaint Forms


Sheriff's Employment
Action Manual
(S.E.A.M.)


Employment Information


Evictions, Foreclosures & Civil Process

New
Civil Process Service
Lookup


Search Criminal Warrants


Search Child Support Warrants


Shakman Compliance


Senior Citizen Services


Social Services


Internet Safety Tips


Graffiti Removal


Complaints


Cook County
Information Center


Freedom of Information
Act Request


Human Resources
Customer Service
Quality Survey


Employee I.O.D.
Information


Training Academy

FOID Card Application


Photos & Videos


Press Releases

STATEMENT FROM SHERIFF DART ON THE CONCEAL CARRY LAW

Home > Press Page

Thursday, July 11, 2013Sheriff Dart reminds the public that while the Firearm Concealed Carry Act (PA 98-0062) became state law on July 9, 2013, it remains illegal to carry a concealed handgun without a license issued by the Illinois State Police. Under the Act, the Illinois State Police has 180 days to make the license application available, followed by a 30-day period for local enforcement to file an objection, if warranted. Therefore, the earliest date an individual could be issued a conceal carry license and be authorized to carry a concealed handgun under the Act is likely February 10, 2014.

Additionally, conceal carry licenses issued by states other than Illinois do not authorize individuals to carry a concealed handgun on their person in Illinois. Concealed handguns may only be carried in Illinois by individuals issued a license by the Illinois State Police under the Act.

Possession of a valid Firearm Owners Identification Card does not authorize the carrying of a concealed handgun under the Act. Carrying a concealed loaded handgun without a license constitutes aggravated unlawful use of a weapon, a Class 4 felony, punishable by 1-3 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections. The Cook County Sheriff’s Office will enforce current law. Until the State of Illinois begins issuing conceal carry licenses, anyone in Cook County found unlawfully carrying a handgun will be subject to arrest and prosecution.

Home > Press Page
Home / Site Map / Search Site / Legal Disclaimer / Login